History of INM Annual Awards

Annual Awards & Recognition

INM presents two awards at the annual state conference to recognize individuals who have dedicated their time and efforts to the improvement of notary education and outreach throughout Maine. If you know a deserving Notary Public, you can nominate them! Submit the nomination form by clicking the “Nominate a Notary Public” button below:

Fred Robinson Award:

This award is given in honor of the late Fred Robinson.Fred was a charter member and past president of INM. The award is given in recognition of the Notary Public who has done the most to further the education of notaries public throughout the state of Maine.

William Diamond Award:

This award is given in honor of a former Secretary of State and a charter member of INM, William Diamond. The award honors the individual who has made a major contribution to the Informed Notaries of Maine in the past year.

Past Award Recipients

Robinson Award Diamond Award Year
Debra Fischer 1998
Tim Poulin Dick Billings 1999
Val Williamson Sherry Tibbetts 2000
Gerry Mountain Carroll Paradis 2001
Betsy Fitzgerald Barbara Hingos 2002
Bill Muzzey Kathy Arsenault 2003
Anne Howe JoAnne Erving 2004
Sally K. Grant Donald Nicoll 2005
Suzanne Hammer Joseph Donato 2006
Matthew Dunlap Kathleen Montejo 2007
Nancy Nichols Karen Hartt 2008
Sherry Tibbetts Todd Tolhurst 2009
Julie L. Simmons Diane Rogers 2010
Carroll Paradis Taanya Pillsbury 2011
Cathy Beaudoin Kathryn Darrah 2012
see below see below 2013
not awarded not awarded 2014
Gwen Cole Mike Richard 2015
Frances Reed Not awarded 2016

On April 18, 2013, INM celebrated its 20th Anniversary.

Traditionally, as noted above, INM presents two annual awards – the Fred Robinson Award and the William Diamond Award.

However, this year, for the 20th Anniversary, INM created a special Platinum Award.

This award was created in honor of an individual who has been instrumental to INM over the past 20 years.

The Platinum Award (an engraved plate) was presented to: Sherry Tibbetts for her service and dedication to INM. Sherry is a dedicated INM member, an INM past president who served as President for 10 years and is currently a Director Emeritus.

Two other individuals were recognized as well:

The very first INM member, who paid the first dues to INM, 20 years ago.

Geraldine Mountain was awarded a bouquet of flowers. Geraldine has maintained her membership in INM without missing a year!


Mr. William Diamond, the Secretary of State during the formation of INM, was presented with an INM pad-folio to recognize the role he played in the formation and support of our organization.